My Once and Future Royals (Part II)


Prince Harry and Kate Middleton at the Garter ...

License CreativeCommons NonCommercial NoDerivs

Some months ago, when Prince William and Kate Middleton became engaged, I couldn’t resist writing about my interest in the royals. Now that William and Kate’s wedding is a few hours away, I can’t resist writing another short post.

Life has been  hard for me lately, but I’m hanging in. I’m living in temporary quarters until the remodel of our new home is completed. My ill husband is  doing well while I do my own best to care for him. In a few days, he goes into the hospital again.

These things, combined with life’s usual daily tasks, have made time all too precious. There has hardly been time to get everything done, no less to write in this beloved blog.

Today, though, I simply must take pause for a little relaxation and stay-at-home travel. Today, I’m going to London!

When I lived near London, I loved to attend evensong at Westminster Abbey.

Westminster Abbey - sunset

Image by timbrauhn via Flickr

Or take a boat trip up the Thames to Greenwich and the Prime Meridian, (a.k.a. time zero, GMT.)

Prime meridian, Greenwich

Marker at the Prime Meridian: Image via Wikipedia

I loved to take walks through St. James Park.

Buckingham Palace, viewed from St James's Park...

St. James Park and distant view of Buckingham Palace: Image via Wikipedia

I went to loads of plays in the West End and ate at the excellent restaurants there. All these things were part of my life in the years I lived in England.

Though life was very good when I enjoyed these features of English life, there was one thing I didn’t like. That lone disappointment was standing in front of Buckingham Palace.

Buckingham Palace in London, England. taken by...
Image via Wikipedia

Not that this was inherently tedious; after all, if one stands in front of the palace long enough, one might get to chat with one of Her Majesty’s guards.

Royal Guards in front of the Royal Palace

Image via Wikipedia

The source of the problem was my own fault: I’d invited family and many friends to visit me from my home country, the good old USA. What was the one touristy thing every visitor wanted to do? You guessed it. Go to Buckingham Palace.

Now, anyone reading this who might be from England already knows the weather English people “enjoy”. (Just look at the background of the pictures in this post. Notice the clouds?) Time after time, at my countrymen’s request, I’d take them to the famous Palace. For much too long, we’d stand there on the “other,” public, side of the fence. We’d stand, freezing, in the chill and drear.

But tomorrow, the day of the big wedding, though there’s a likelihood of sprinkles, we’re also promised some springtime sun. And, instead of the usual gaggle of tourists rubbernecking as they hope to spot a royal, the royals will actually be seen. This time, how I’d like to be there!

Even so, I admit I’m not game to stay up through the night. Depending on the channel, TV coverage there starts at 10:00 or 11:00 a.m. (zero GMT in England)—-which translates to the wee hours in California. Trying to keep awake so late would wreck me for days. A wreck can’t take care of her dearest hubby.

But I’ve gone ahead and done it. I’ve met the challenge. I’ve performed my own miracle of stay-at-home travel.

I’ve finally learned to program my DVR!

Tonight, I’ll sleep with my hubby. As wedding bells ring, I’ll nestle in my pillow, sugarplum visions swirling in my head.  My future royals’ wedding will unfurl without my watching, and be recorded all the while for playback next morning.

In this way, I’ll be in sync with my “adoptive” country, my number two land, a land I  love. I’ll be in sync with people in London. And possibly with millions around the world.

Guess it was worth the effort to read the instructions for my DVR.

Cheers to all!

Bon voyage,

Rita Elizabeth


About RitaElizabeth

I'm a recently widowed wife and mother who loves to use ideas and experiences from travel to enrich my family's life at home. I blog to share ideas with you and to hear your ideas and comments.
This entry was posted in Romance/love, Royalty and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Once and Future Royals (Part II)

  1. Though I have never been, I love England and hope to visit there one day. It’s on my list of things to do. The photographs you shared are just beautiful.

    I know you are ready to get into your new home and get everything settled. Keeping you and your husband in my thoughts and prayers.

    ♥ Diane

    • Dear Diane, Thanks so much for your e-mail, and especially for your thoughts and prayers. Life has been hard lately and my honey has had some setbacks, but we’re doing okay. Things seem to be shaping up a little to give me a tiny bit more time, and I’m looking forward to blogging with my buddies. Hugs, Rita

      Rita Elizabeth Check out my blog at http://www.StayAtHomeTraveler.comFinalist, 2009 Fire and Ice, Mary Reade, 2010 Melody of Love, and more!

  2. Thanks so much, Diane! I’m glad to be back–at least for the moment. Looking forward to stopping by your blog!

  3. Janet Murtha says:

    Hi Rita Elizabeth, I enjoyed your British wedding blog today! I dozed in my chair before the TV last night but woke up in time to see the first half or so of the wedding, then went to bed for good around 4 a.m. It was a very beautiful wedding!! What a sense of history in Westminster –would love to see the cathedral in person someday. I’ll enjoy the wedding re-runs, as well. Cheerio to you and yours!

  4. Thanks for your comment, Janet! So glad you got to watch the wedding in real time. I admire you for staying up until 4:00 a.m. — I would have been wrecked, lol.

    Oh, I loved the wedding, too, and will enjoy the re-runs, just like you, probably over and over.

    And cheerio, too, to you and yours!

    Rita

Leave a Reply

