How sweet is the custom of Lily-of-the-Valley

Lily of the Valley

Image via Wikipedia

Today is May 1st, celebrated as “May Day” in Europe. In Switzerland and France, people do something very lovely today. Since this charming custom involves my favorite flower, I couldn’t resist dashing out this post.

For the past few days, vendors have been selling lily-of-the-valley on the streets of Switzerland and France. The flowers are everywhere! The idea is to give a sprig or bouquet of this flower to someone you love.

Lily-of-the-valley symbolizes several things, among them the return of happiness. So, when you give a person  this enchanting bloom, you’re wishing them happiness. I’d say you’re also injecting poetry into their daily life. I’d even say you’d be injecting poetry into yours.

Today, so soon after witnessing Prince William and Kate exchange their wedding vows, I find this custom especially endearing.

I wish lilies-of-the-valley to every one of you reading this. Many lilies-of-the-valley.

Here’s to happiness and romance. Here’s to love!

Vive l’amour!

Bon voyage,

Rita Elizabeth

P.S.  If you’d like to read a French person’s take on this custom (and to see some lovely pictures, too!) just click on this link “Frenchie and the May Lilies.”  Scroll to the middle of the post.

About RitaElizabeth

I'm a recently widowed wife and mother who loves to use ideas and experiences from travel to enrich my family's life at home. I blog to share ideas with you and to hear your ideas and comments.
This entry was posted in Gifts of today, Just for Fun, Poetry in daily life, Romance/love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to How sweet is the custom of Lily-of-the-Valley

  1. Pat M says:

    Rita, I so enjoy all of your blogs. You’ve been so fortunate to have lived and experienced so many different cultures. Thank you for sharing.

    Next year, if at all possible, I plan on gifting a few special people in my life Lily of the Valley on May first. I was totally unaware of this custom but love it.

    • Pat, thanks so much for your comment! I simply love, love, love this custom and I wish we had it in the United States. Being in Louisiana, you have a great opportunity to start getting this going next May. There are still lots of remnants of French culture there (I mean, New Orleans even has a French Quarter, so I’d guess that the flower verndors there might be interested in promoting the custom.) I’ll see what I can do on my end before next May 1st.

  2. Tiffany Holmes says:

    I wish lilies of the valley to you too, Rita!

    Love,

    Tiffany

  3. Tiffany,

    You need to make another trip to Paris each year, to ensure you’re there on May 1st!

    I can imagine you enjoying this custom very much.

    à bientôt,

    Rita

  4. I love lillies of the valley…they smell lovely too!

  5. Dear “journey,”

    Oh yes! The smell of them! I remember sniffing their fragrance in my parents’ garden ever since I was a toddler.

Leave a Reply

