Keeping the fat in Tuesday

Selling our house. Moving out of that house. Getting data ready for the accountant to do our taxes.

I'm still experiencing stressful fallout from this move!

Taxes, taxes, taxes! The most complex tax year of my husband’s and my lives.

Tax Time (41/366)

Image by 427 via Flickr

These are the things that keep me enthralled. So wrapped up in them that stay-at-home-travel has fallen by the wayside.

More directly put, I’ve hardly blogged lately because of all this stress.

Stress Reduction Kit

Image by programwitch via Flickr

But back-seating this blog hasn’t been my only problem. I stress, therefore I eat.

Instead of making time to shop for  fruits and veggies, instead of cutting and slicing and cooking tasty, healthful meals, I’ve been grabbing. Cookies, crackers, ice cream, chocolate candy–whatever happens to be around at the time.

Chocolate ice cream

Image via Wikipedia

Last December, between Christmas and New Year’s, I started Weight Watchers, planning to ease myself in just before the New Year, to be one step ahead of all the poor schmoes who sign up after January 1st. WW is a fabulous program, recently updated to make it quite pleasant a way to lose weight. So pleasant, in fact, that in little more than a month, I’d lost seven pounds.

Then, it happened. My internet went down. Not only down, but for several days. Without the net, I couldn’t use Weight Watchers’ “e-tools,” a feature I’d grown to love.

Recipe: Autumn Macaroni

Image by bitchcakesny via Flickr

Not having e-tools really got me down.

To escape this horror, I ate with gay abandon–and my reckless eating shows. Seconds on the lips, forever on the hips. This old saw recounts the story of my life.

Hippo

Image via Wikipedia

Yet, help is coming.  Ash Wednesday to the rescue!

Atlantic Ocean (Feb. 6, 2008) Electronics Tech...

Image via Wikipedia

But Fat Tuesday claims the day before.

Scenes from the 2004 Carnivale in Venice (IMG_...

Carnevale in Venice. Image by Alaskan Dude via Flickr

New Orleans, Venice, Marseilles, Rio,

Carnival Rio de Janeiro 2006 - União do parque...

Carnival in Rio de Janeiro (Image via Wikipedia)

all celebrate Fat Tuesday in similar ways.  Carnival, Mardi Gras,  Shrove Tuesday, Carnevale–throughout the Western world, revellers stuff their stomachs. They dance and drink themselves into oblivion on this last day before the beginning of Lent.

Even as I type words into this blog, my daughter revels in New Orleans, celebrating Mardi Gras with her good friends.

 

New Orleans Mardi Gras. Three revelers painted...

(No, this ISN'T my daughter. But I thought these guys were funny.) Image via Wikipedia

New Orleans: the morning after a Mardi Gras weekend, photo taken by my daughter. Sorry it's so tiny--when under duress, my technical skills fail.

Hot off the press, since I posted this–Better pictures just e-mailed in by my daughter!

New Orleans, Mardi Gras 2011

New Orleans, Mardi Gras 2011

New Orleans, Mardi Gras 2011

New Orleans, Mardi Gras 2011

New Orleans, Mardi Gras 2011

Starting on Ash Wednesday, the Christian tradition’s first day of Lent, faithful people look inward with an eye toward change. Though the practice seems to be have faded in recent years, some people give up things they enjoy. For example, when I was a child, my friends and I gave up candy for the six weeks of Lent. (Or, at least, we tried to stay away from candy for that long!)

Now that the throes collecting data for our taxes is in the past, I’m going to take advantage of Ash Wednesday. Instead of a gloomsday, Wednesday will be my day for beneficial change.

On Wednesday morning, I’ll take myself to a Weight Watchers meeting. Then, I’ll grocery shop. Later, I’ll take a walk. Around 6 p.m., I’ll begin to transform my purchases into hubby’s and my nutritious evening meal. And at the end of the day, I’ll log these healthy activities into e-tools. If my internet goes awry, I’ll just jot things down on a piece of paper and high-tail it over to the library next day. E-tools will work as well on their computers as on mine.

Sound like a plan? I see you right there, nodding in agreement.

Yes, I’m more than ready to get back on track. Ready for the healthy discipline of Lent.

Even so, I’ve gotta go now. The grocery store check-out guy waits with bated breath,  a quart of Hagen Daz in his hot little hand. Flavor? Coffee. (Luscious, of course.)

coffee ice cream with Oreo4

Image by wintersoul1 via Flickray

Maybe I’ll add something to that ice cream–something more spiritual. A candle, perhaps. I mean, add a candle, and the treat becomes holy.  The more holiness the better, don’t you think? Which to my way of thinking means two desserts are better than one.



Go ahead and light a candle for Mardi Gras!

After all, if not for me, who will keep the fat going this Tuesday?

Bon voyage,

Rita Elizabeth


About RitaElizabeth

I'm a recently widowed wife and mother who loves to use ideas and experiences from travel to enrich my family's life at home. I blog to share ideas with you and to hear your ideas and comments.
This entry was posted in Just for Fun and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Keeping the fat in Tuesday

  1. kenny2dogs says:

    The laziest man I ever met put popcorn in his pancakes so they would turn over by themselves.
    W. C. Fields
    Have a pleasent “fat Tuesday Rita 🙂
    Thinking of you .
    B.T.W…..Thought this may help. http://i63.photobucket.com/albums/h134/kenny2dogs/197849_1794862785430_1055490002_31884583_6399114_s.jpg

  2. Love the photos! The hippo made me laugh out loud:) Oh, and the stress reduction kit…I seriously need one of those. Hope things calm down for you soon!

    Happy Fat Tuesday, Rita. Enjoy every single minute indulging. Excellent plan to get back on track with Ash Wednesday. I know you can do it!!

    Hugs, Diane

  3. Janet Murtha says:

    I think we can all relate due to the unusually harsh winter– rain, cold & snow makes us skip the walks and go for the comfort food! Thanks for the funny musings and photos. I always love reading them. Enjoy fat Tuesday and good luck with Lent!

    • Thanks, Janet. I can tell you’ve been through quite a winter, too. Glad you enjoyed the post–I love hearing from you.

      Have a great Spring! Look forward to hearing from you again soon!

      Rita

  4. kenny2dogs says:

    Hi Rita. You are conspicuous by your absence from Word press. But I am sure you have a good reason.
    Take care,
    thinking of you.
    Kenny !

  5. Hi, Kenny, Diane, Janet (and Kenny, again)!

    Thanks for your comments–I’ve been away because my dear husband has been ill and in the hospital (he’s much better now.) Also, we MOVED into our new home (well, we’re living in the “rental” side, while “our” side is being remodeled–think I’ll have to blog on that…:-) The move was all-consuming. Combine these things with recent computer problems–the timing was horrendous–and I wound up needing to stay away.

    But I’m planning to be back, SOON!

    I’m looking forward to getting back on board with you all, my beloved blogging buddies. Probably in a day or two.

    In the meantime, hugs and kisses from me!

Leave a comment